Reception Curriculum

What is the Early Years Foundation Stage?

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets out learning and developmental stages from birth to five years.  In partnership with parents and carers, we endeavour to ensure the children’s ‘school readiness’ and give them a ‘broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for future progress through school and life’ (Early Years Foundation Stage Framework, 2021).

We believe that children learn best from first hand experiences and through play.  At Ashover, children are offered a carefully planned range of experiences and opportunities, starting with their interests and existing knowledge.

The 7 areas of learning and development.

The 3 prime areas:

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development

The 4 specific areas:

  • literacy
  • maths
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design

Quick Links

Purple Mash