What is the Early Years Foundation Stage?

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets out learning and developmental stages from birth to five years.  In partnership with parents and carers, we endeavour to ensure the children’s ‘school readiness’ and give them a ‘broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for future progress through school and life’ (Statutory Framework for EYFS, 2014).

We believe that children learn best from first hand experiences and through play.  At Ashover, children are offered a carefully planned range of experiences and opportunities, starting with their interests and existing knowledge.

The EYFS is based upon four key principles:

  • A unique child – developing resilient, capable, confident and self-assured individuals.
  • Positive Relationships – children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person.
  • Enabling environment – where opportunities and experiences respond to the individual needs of the child by developing a strong partnership between practitioners, parents/carers and the child.
  • Learning and Developing – an understanding that children have different needs, learn in different ways and at different rates.

 Children experience learning in seven areas which are broken into Prime Areas and Specific Areas:

 Prime Areas:

- communication and language

            - physical development

            - personal, social and emotional development

  Specific Areas:

            - literacy

            - maths

            - understanding the world

            - expressive art and design